Adventures in Legal Land: Quote List

Adventures in Legal Land by Marc Stevens

The following is a list of quotes I found worth keeping, sharing, processing, writing about, or in general just enjoy.  As is typical, I will attempt to write about these quotes.  Either how they personally effected me, or just a couple interesting observations on it.

—–

– Highlight on Page 163
a “law” is just an opinion backed by violence,

– Highlight on Page 194
“contra negantem principia non est disputandum” In other words, it is useless to argue with one who denies principles.

– Highlight on Page 196
“Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent” Isaac Asimov, Foundation trilogy. The Mayors book 1, part III

– Highlight on Page 198
If he’s taking control over my life and property without my consent then it’s clear this individual does not believe I have any rights, except whatever rights he in his mercy wants to extend to me. This is usually expressed by the “time worn” statist phrase “consistently rejected” by rational people: “you have all the rights the constitution gives you.”

– Highlight on Page 199
Isn’t that also true of any slave? Slaves have as many rights as the master in his benevolence wishes to extend the slave. And exactly I low docs an unsigned written instrument (“constitution”) give anyone “rights” anyway? Is my right to life really dependent on a 200 year old “written instrument” no one bothered to sign?

– Highlight on Page 199
To further prove that bureaucrats think, or at least act as though they own everything and everyone, let’s look at the definition of owner “owner. One who has complete dominion over particular property. 42 Am Jur 1st Prop § 37.” Ballentine’s Law Dictionary, page 906.

– Highlight on Page 200
If I own the books and records, then I have “complete dominion over [that] particular property.” This means for someone else to use my property, I have to give my freely given consent, because I have “complete dominion.” Remember if it’s not recognized that I am the owner, then a so-called “subpoena” would not be in my name requiring me to bring in the property. Instead, some bureaucrat would just come by and take what he felt was his. Maybe those bureaucrats just want my assistance in bringing their books and records to the court without having to pay me.

– Highlight on Page 203
“For, the very idea that man may be compelled to hold his life, or the means of living, or any material right essential to the enjoyment of life, at the mere will of another, seems to be intolerable in any country where freedom prevails, as being the essence of slavery itself Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 US 356,370

Leave a Reply

